Arokia Nathan (S’84-M’87-SM’99) received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, in 1988. In 1987, he joined LSI Logic Corporation, Santa Clara, CA, where he worked on advanced multichip packaging techniques and related issues. Subsequently, he was at the Institute of Quantum Electronics, ETH Zürich, Switzerland. In 1989, he joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University ofWaterloo,Waterloo, Canada. In 1995, he was a Visiting Professor at the Physical Electronics Laboratory, ETH Zürich, Switzerland. In 1997 he held the DALSA/ NSERC industrial research chair in sensor technology, and was a recipient of the 2001 Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship. During 2005-2006, he was a Visiting Professor in the Engineering Department, University of Cambridge, U.K. Later in 2006, he joined the London Centre for Nanotechnology and the Department of Electrical Engineering, University College London, London, U.K., where he holds the Sumitomo/STS Chair of Nanotechnology. He is also the Chief Technology Officer of Ignis Innovation Inc.,Waterloo, Canada, a company he founded to commercialize technology on thin-film silicon backplanes and driving algorithms for active-matrix organic light-emitting diode displays. He has extensive experience in device physics and modeling, and materials processing and integration. His present research interests lie in fabrication of devices, circuits, and systems using disordered semiconductors, including organic materials and nanocomposites, on rigid and mechanically flexible substrates for large area electronics, for imaging and display applications. He has published extensively in the field of sensor technology and CAD, and thin-film transistor electronics, and has over 30 patents filed/awarded. He is a coauthor of two books, Microtransducer CAD (Springer, 1999) and CCD Image Sensors in Deep-Ultraviolet (Springer, 2005). Dr. Nathan is a Chartered Engineer (U.K.) and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. He is a member of the American Physical Society, Electrochemical Society, Materials Research Society, Society for Information Displays, and International Society for Optical Engineering. He served as chair of the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS)-Solid-State Circuits Society (SSC) in the IEEE K-W Local Chapter, IEEE Newsletter Editor for Region 7, and received the IEEE/EDS Distinguished Lecturer Award in 2004. He is a member of the IEEE EDS Publications Committee and the IEEE EDS Sub-Committee on Organic and Polymer Devices. He chaired the 2005 and 2006 IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) Technical Committee on Displays and the Displays Sub-Committee in 2004, 2005, and 2006. He is an editorial board member of IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON DEVICES, MATERIALS, AND RELIABILITY, and the IEEE ELECTRON DEVICE LETTERS. He co-chaired the Fall 2005 Materials Research Society Symposium M: Flexible and Printed Electronics, Photonics, and Biomaterials, the Fall 2006 and 2008 Materials Research Society Symposium on Mobile Energy, and the Spring 2007 and 2008 Materials Research Society Symposium A on Amorphous and Polycrystalline Thin-Film Silicon Science and Technology. He was a Guest Editor for a two-part Special Issue on Flexible Electronics Technology in the PROCEEDINGS OF THE IEEE.

© 2008 IEEE

PDF Article

Cited By

You do not have subscription access to this journal. Cited by links are available to subscribers only. You may subscribe either as an OSA member, or as an authorized user of your institution.

Contact your librarian or system administrator
Login to access OSA Member Subscription